Beautiful people is a bog link-up hosted by Cait and Sky. Basically it’s a bunch of questions posted every month for writers to answer about their characters. It’s a lot of fun, and I’m looking forward to getting back into the habit of participating in them each month.

If you’ve been following this blog, you will already know my latest project, Peganina. I’m planning on working on this book for Camp NaNoWriMo (more about that soon!), so I thought this would be the perfect time to interview Peg. (And just for timeline and spoilers purposes, I’m asking this to Peg right before the events at the start of the novel.)

Now on to the questions!

1. What’s your favourite place you’ve ever visited?

I’ve never actually left the city limits, but my favourite place to go in the city is the breakwater, especially early in the morning. I love the quiet sound of the waves on the rocks and the way the sun hits the trees in the big gardens across the harbour. It’s a magical place, and I don’t have time go out there very often, which makes it even more special.

2. What’s one mistake you made that you learned from?

I undercharged someone at the shop once, only made them pay for half of what they actually bought. It meant that we were short on money that week, and I’ve found hunger to be a pretty good teacher.

3. What was your favourite subject in school? Or favourite thing to learn about?

Girls don’t go to school unless her family is very rich or she is nobility. I only learned to read and write out of necessity after my mother died because my father stopped doing much of anything. My older brother taught me, and we ran the shop together until he left. I don’t think I have a favourite thing to learn about. To me, it’s a survival skill, not for fun.

4. What’s your favourite flower/growing thing?

I don’t know what they’re called, but there are these beautiful trailing purple flowers that my neighbour somehow manages to grow. In the evenings on really hot days their scent almost covers up the smells of the rest of the city.

5. Have you ever made someone cry? What happened?

I can’t remember making anyone cry, though I probably did when I was small.

6. Would you consider yourself a reliable or unreliable narrator?

What’s that supposed to mean? Of course I’m reliable!

(Author note: Peg is actually a reliable narrator, for the most part)

7. What do you dream about at night?

I haven’t remembered my dreams for several years, but I do remember that for a few years after the plague I had horrible nightmares about it.

8. You’ve gone out for a “special meal.” What do you eat?

Fried fish cooked in a sun-dried tomato and garlic sauce, fresh olive and caper bread that can be dipped in olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and for dessert a fluffy pastry filled with ricotta cheese. I had this meal once, the night before my brother left for the army. The dessert was absolutely heavenly.

9. What’s at least one thing you want to do before you die?

I’m not sure. Making a bucket list isn’t really something I think about a lot. I’m more focused on just trying to make it day to day right now. I guess before I die I’d like to do something that means a lot to someone else – to do something meaningful, make a real difference, you know?

10. Do you have any distinguishing or unique talents?

Being able to read and write is pretty distinguishing for a girl in my part of the city. Also, running a business and a household. On a different note, I’m pretty good at climbing things – trees, cliffs, buildings. Haven’t found a use for that particular talent, though.

 

And that is all the questions for this month! I hope you enjoyed getting to know a bit more about Peg. Tell me what you thought below in the comments!

