I moved out of residence today. My last exam was yesterday, and campus is closing  tonight. It was a rush to get all of my stuff  packed up into boxes and bags, to mooch rides off friends to get my stuff into the house I’m renting for next year (since I don’t have a car and it’s a pretty decent walk from res to my new house).  All the business and work kept me distracted from what I didn’t want to face: leaving.

But now I’m comfortably seated on my friend’s couch, alone in the apartment, and leaving is catching up with me.

Goodbyes are hard.

It’s hard to part with people who you love, who can make you laugh until your eyes water and your abs hurt. It’s hard to leave a place where there are so many memories, both good and bad. It’s hard to accept that things won’t be the way they were, that I won’t be the same person I was, when I come back in the fall.

Over the past two weeks I have said goodbye to a lot a good friends, some of them only for the next four months, others who I may never see again. I’m not going to lie and say that this year has in any way been easy for me, but it was my friends, the people who were there for me and who let me be there for them that made this year good. And saying goodbye to them is hard.

But on the bright side, I’m now on summer vacation and I get to go home and see my family and friends there. Leaving is not easy, but the flip side of leaving is going. And going means a new adventure, a new place, and so much more to learn and do.

Here is a good parting song, for any of you who may also be leaving (or being left behind): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u5rpOXS9O8Q

