Dear 2016,

What a year you have been!

I got to visit my sisters in Prince Edward Island in February for the winter term reading week.

I sold flowers at a plant stand with the nicest bosses ever! They periodically bought us hot chocolate (or coffee) on cold, rainy mornings, and Iced Capps and Powerade on the hottest days. Plus on slow business days I could just sit among the flowers and read books, which was amazing.

I worked in a camp kitchen for three weeks, which was very hot and a lot of hard work, but it was also a lot of fun.

I helped out with orientation week for the first years at my university, which was like camp but with 18 year-olds.

I saw the little children’s choir I accompany double in size.

I wrote 18 midterms, 9 final exams, three major lab reports, one paper, and countless small assignments and quizzes.

I learned how to program in Java.

I became the proud owner of a baritone ukulele.

I became a die-hard fan of two book trilogies (Red Rising by Pierce Brown and CS Lewis’ Space Trilogy) and one amazing book series (The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch).

I became addicted to Brooklyn-99 and Grey’s Anatomy thanks to my next-door neighbour in dorm who has Netflix.

p13001424_b_v8_ab

You haven’t been the easiest year or the best year, 2016, but I do have a lot to be thankful for! The list above is a small snapshot of all the great adventures I got to have and all the things I got to do in the past 366 days.

May the Lord bless us and keep us in the next 365. May His light and love fill our hearts, and may we grow closer to him in the coming days, weeks, and months.

Here’s to 2017!

new-years-eve-1664737_960_720
source
