This post is late coming up today because last night instead of writing a blog post I went out and watched Captain America Civil War with my friends. IT WAS SO AMAZING! Definitely one of the best Marvel movies thus far, in my opinion. You should all go watch it. 😀

BP Pic

For those who don’t know, Beautiful People is a blog link-up hosted by Cait and Skye to help writers develop their characters. Today I will be interviewing Sydney Parks, one of the main characters in my current WIP. To read more about Sydney, you can go here, and here.

Sarah: Thanks for joining me here today, Sydney. I have just a few questions I’d like to ask.

Sydney: Questions about what?

Sarah: All sorts of things – shall we begin?

Syd (shifts uncomfortably): Okay, shoot.

Sarah: How often do you smile?

Syd (laughs): What kind of question is that? Um, I don’t know… several times a day.

Sarah: Would you smile at a stranger?

Syd: Do I look that stupid?

Sarah: Fair enough. What’s the cruelest thing someone has ever told you, and how did you react?

Syd (sighs): This seems like a job interview question. Is this a job interview?

Sarah: Just answer the question.

Syd (sighing again): I don’t know about the absolute cruellest thing someone has ever said to me. I was bullied a fair bit in elementary school, and typically I would pretend I couldn’t hear them and go off alone to read a book.

Sarah: How about the kindest thing someone’s ever told you?

Syd: Back in the day Hunter would always tell me not to listen to the bullies and that they were just jealous because I was so smart, which was pretty kind of him.

Sarah: What is a strong memory that has stuck with you from childhood, and why is it so powerful and lasting?

Syd: That’s kind of a personal question… I guess one strong memory is from when I was ten. Hunter and I were riding our bikes around the block, and I lost my balance and hit a tree, taking the skin off both my knees and an elbow. My mom faints at the sight of blood, so she passed out and Hunter’s mom had to clean me up. It’s stuck with me not only because falling off the bike was pretty painful, but also because that’s the first clear memory I have of Hunter’s mom. She was like a second mother to me growing up.

Sarah: Have you ever read The Martian by Andy Weir?

Syd: I haven’t exactly had a lot of free time to read lately, so no. Why?

Sarah: I think you’d enjoy it. The main character has a lot of inventive genius I think you’d appreciate.

Syd: I’ll have to pick it up next time I’m in a library.

Sarah: Total change of topics here, have you ever been seriously injured? How severely, and how did you react or deal with it?

Syd (laughs nervously): Not yet. I mean, I’ve been knocked out and stuff, but nothing life-threatening.

Sarah: Did you like or get along with your neighbours?

Syd: I’m what some might call a social recluse. I never really talked to my neighbours except for Hunter and his mom. So I guess yes?

Sarah: On a scale of 1 to 10, how easy are you to get along with? One being easy and ten difficult.

Syd: Pffft, somewhere around and eight or nine, I would say.

Sarah: Shows how well you know yourself. I’d give you more a five or six.

Syd: Really?

Sarah: Yeah. You’re not difficult. Just quiet and shy. Changing subjects again, if you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

Syd: Somewhere safe, anywhere safe, really.

Sarah: And finally, who was the last person you held hands with?

Syd: To be honest I can’t even remember. Which means it was probably my mom crossing the street when I was five or something lame like that.

Sarah: Thank-you again for your time, Sydney. I hope you and Hunter have fun kicking butt together.

Syd (grins and winks): You know we will.

Sarah (once Sydney has left): I actually know you won’t, but that is a whole ‘nother story. You could write a whole book about it, in fact…

And that, friends, was this month’s beautiful people! I hope you enjoyed the small insight into Sydney. My question for you all today is: If YOU could go anywhere in the world, where would you go? Oh, and also if you’ve seen it, what did you think of Civil War? Tell me below in the comments!

