I loved this book so much growing up! It was one of those books that came with a read-along tape (yes, a cassette tape – does that make me officially old??), and I probably listened to it a hundred times. I even had my own, pink plastic purse, which I pretended played music just like Lilly’s.

It’s always fun to revisit childhood favourites, and this book was no exception.

IMG_0717

I loved looking at all the fantastic illustrations, and admiring how much character and story can be developed and told with a few simple words and less than thirty pages. I loved remembering mom reading it aloud to me. I loved being reminded of the wonderful messages it contains.

It’s actually kind of incredible to think how long this story has stuck in my memory. I got it over sixteen years ago, and I still sometimes quote to myself “Today was a difficult day. Tomorrow will be better.” And then I smile because Mr. Slinger is fantastic.

All in all, this book just straight-up makes me happy. It’s about a little mouse and how she adores her teacher and loves school. It’s about how milk always tastes better with a straw, and how fun it is to have shiny new toys. But most of all it’s a story about saying sorry, accepting forgiveness, and moving past your mistakes.

IMG_0722

Which brings me to the climax of my post. Children’s books can be nothing more than a cute story about little critters and a happy ending, but they have the potential to be so much more if you let them. I guess what I’m saying is, don’t let yourself get too “grown up” and serious to appreciate picture books. Because while we may not all have purple plastic purses and movie-star sunglasses we want to show off, we do all mess up, act selfishly and without thinking, and have bad days. And where would we be without the Mr. Slinger’s of the world leaving us cheese snacks and notes reminding us that tomorrow will be better?

 

 

What was your favourite picture book growing up? Have you read Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse? Tell me below in the comments!

Endnote: I have survived finals and am safely and happily home again! Thanks so much to everybody who encouraged me this semester. It meant a lot to me and I appreciate you all so much! 🙂

