I am very late to the party on this, but in my defence, MIDTERMS! SCHOOL! THE USUAL!

Now that I’ve got that out of my system, I present for your reading pleasure today, the March edition of Beautiful People, hosted by Cait and Sky, who both do a better job of explaining exactly what this linkup is, so I highly encourage you to go check out their blogs and all the other lovely BP posts people have done.

BP Pic

And now for the questions! Today I will introduce you all to a new character who is so fresh on the scene that he is as yet unnamed! We shall call him Fnu for now. (And just as a side note on the timeline of my writing process, this “new” character has bee kicking around in my brain since the Christmas Break. I write slower than molasses in the winter, I know.)

1. What first inspired this character? Is there a person/actor you based them on?

This character was inspired by necessity. I needed my two main characters to have a physical adversary to fight against rather than just some nebulous and distant evil organization, and so I came up with Fnu. He’s based on your stereotypical overzealous young military officer who wants to quickly move up the ranks and make his mark on the world, and who typically makes an appearance in WWII movies.

2. Describe their daily routine.

To be honest I hadn’t thought much about it yet. All I is know he won’t have much routine during the timeline of the novel, because he is hunting my main characters and they are not an easy pair to find.

3. If they joined your local high school, what clique would they fit into?

Fnu dropped out of high school in grade 10. If he went back though, he would probably fit in with the rough crowd.

4. Write a list of things they merely tolerate. Ex: certain people, foods, circumstances in their lives…

Cold coffee and wrinkles in his uniform. Sleeping out in the rain. His boss.

5. How do they react in awkward silences?

He will out last anyone in an awkward silence contest.

6. Can they swim? If so, how did they learn?

Sure can! He learned to swim when he spent a summer at his aunt and uncle’s house in Saskatchewan. They had a dugout pool in their backyard, where he learned mostly by trial and error from his three older brothers.

7. What is one major event that helped shape who they are?

When his oldest brother joined the military. He looked up to his oldest brother a lot growing up, and dreamed of one day following in his footsteps.

8. What things do they value most in life?

Though he would vehemently deny it if you asked, he cares a lot about his family, especially his two younger siblings.

9. Do they believe in giving other people second chances? Do they have any trust issues?

Funny you asked. The answers are no and yes, respectively.

10. Your character is having a rough day…what things do they do to make them happy again? Is there anyone they talk/interact with to get in a better mood?

He takes a lot of his anger and frustration out on his punching bag, but when, like in my book, he is far away from his punching bag, he just bottles up all his negative feelings and lets them fuel his anger and give him the strength to get on with his mission.

 

That was all very vague, I know. Partly because I haven’t ironed out all the kinks of Fnu’s character yet, but also partly because I don’t want to give away any major plot points. No spoilers here!

I hope that you enjoyed this (nearly) belated edition of Beautiful People. Do you have any tips for naming characters? How did you learn to swim? Tell me all in the comments!

