I found this book quite depressing. To be honest I wasn’t a huge fan of the story, but despite that I think it had an interesting and important commentary on society. Overall, I would give it a 3.5 star rating. Not my favourite, probably won’t ever re-read it, probably wouldn’t recommend it, but I do think it is a valuable piece of literature.

If you are the kind of person
who likes to go into books without knowing anything about them (which I would actually recommend for this book – not knowing what was going on was a big part of the intrigue of this book for me), then I would suggest you read no farther if you’re planning on picking up Never Let Me Go anytime soon.

Five spoiler-free things I liked about Never Let Me Go:

  1. The writing style was interesting because the author chose to tell the story as a set of reflections and memories. It was unique, and jarring at first, but it worked very well for the kind of story Ishiguro was trying to tell.
  2. So much mystery and confusion! It kept me hooked and turning the pages.
  3. The interactions between the characters, though frustrating, were very realistic.
  4. Beautiful descriptions of the English countryside.
  5. It made me think about things like the purpose of life and all that deep philosophical stuff.

Five spoiler-free things I disliked about Never Let Me Go:

  1. Not all my questions were answered at the end of the story. In fact, very few of them were. Perhaps that was the author’s point, but I didn’t like it. GIVE ME ANSWERS!!!
  2. In my opinion there was an unnecessary amount of sex going on, and also a very blasé treatment of the subject. I know I can hardly ask for books and authors to share my views, but even still I wasn’t a fan of it.
  3. I don’t like books that make me feel depressed and hopeless at the end, which this one did. Books that make me sad at the end? Sure, so long as there’s some hope thrown in there too, but I found Never Let Me Go had a very existential vibe.
  4. The author had this habit of telling about things that happened before we got to hear the story of how these things happened. It was a very circular, almost backwards style, and though it was different and unique and interesting, it didn’t work for me. This is sort of the flip side of reason #1 why I liked the book. I guess I’m saying I liked the writing style sometimes but didn’t like it other times.
  5. There was a plot? Maybe? The book was very character-centric and light in the stuff actually happening department, which is not necessarily a bad thing, but I’m more of the fantasy/sci-fi big grand plots with lots of action and excitement type, so a whole book with not much really happening was not my favourite thing in the whole world.

Have you read Never Let Me Go? If so, tell me your thoughts! If not, are you planning on reading it in the future?

Happy New Year!

