Tracey tagged me for this tag and since I am incredibly busy with holiday revelries, I figured that now was the perfect time to do it.

Rules:Version 2

  1. Post the picture on your blog. (I have no idea what picture this is, so here is some lovely snow, because snow is Christmas-y!)
  2. Answer the questions.
  3. Tag up to 12 bloggers.
  4. Make up 10 questions for other bloggers.

I’m being a pirate this tag and not following the last half of the rules. Or the first rule, actually. Basically, it is Christmas, I am lazy, and here are my answers to the ten Christmas themed questions Tracey has asked me. Hope you enjoy! 😀

371192697c7656a26678c34c2ad0b3dad0f870f77b7d123fd2e85907ef183e56
source

1.How do you normally celebrate Christmas?

My family is very big on traditions, so we do practically the same thing every year, and I love it!

On Christmas eve we either go out to my Aunt’s family’s house or they all come to us, which is lots of fun. On Christmas morning, we wake up early and open stockings all together on mom and dad’s bed, then we eat croissants for breakfast, then we open presents, then we go to church, then we have lunch and open more presents, and then we get ready for the big family dinner at my Grandfather’s. Boxing Day is pyjama day, and it is almost as good as Christmas day because you get to lie around and read and play with all your new toys. 😀

2. Is it cold where you live? Have you ever had a white Christmas?

It is cold where I grew up, and we have always had white Christmases, but where I go to school it is not as cold and apparently they don’t always have snow in December (the horror!). Thankfully I came home for christmas so I have snow.

3. What’s your favourite Christmas song?

I love singing Christmas carols! Some of my favourites are Silent Night, What Child is This, the Huron Carol, and In the Bleak Midwinter. I also love pretending that pop Christmas music doesn’t exist…

4. What does your Christmas Tree look like?

This year it looks like this:


We have a wonderful artificial tree that we all decorate together on the first Sunday of Advent.

5. How early do you start to get into the Christmas spirit?

The first Sunday in Advent, because that is when my family sets up the tree. So four-ish weeks until Christmas.

6. What makes it FEEL like Christmas for you? (Weather, specific tradition, food, smell, person, etc.?)

Definitely once there is proper snow on the ground everything feels Christmas-y, and also when my mom boils the “pot of scents” which has oranges and lemons and cloves and cinnamon. It makes the whole house smell like christmas heaven.

7. Do you have relatives coming? Excited? Nervous?

So many relatives and I can’t wait to see them all! Some of them I have already seen since coming home for the holidays, but that is besides the point…

8. If you were to start a new Christmas tradition, what would it be?

Making a gigantic gingerbread house from scratch sounds like a fun project for the days between Christmas and New Years’.

9. What Christmas movies do you like to watch this time of year or what’s your favourite?

Grinch02
source

My family always watches the Grinch (animated version, not the crappy live action one), and Charlie Brown’s Christmas.

10. What’s your favourite Christmasy book or book with a favourite Christmasy part?

Luke 2 in the Bible begs to be mentioned.

Lucy and Tom’s Christmas by Shirley Hughs. My dad used to always read it to us and mess up the words on purpose to make us laugh. We all still love getting this book read aloud to us and laughing at dad’s silliness.

