I got to see Mockingjay part 2 on opening night! I expected there to be lines to get in, and the theatre to be full, but one of the perks of living in a small university town is that people are too busy getting hammered to go to the movies on a Friday night.

Anyways…

The movie was so good! There will be spoilers in this review, so for those haven’t read the books or watched the movie yet and don’t want to be spoiled, I will say this: I really enjoyed this movie, and highly recommend you see it (and read the book first if you haven’t read it yet!). It was intense and fast-paced and guttingly emotional. Personally I liked it way better than the book, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the last half of the Hunger Games trilogy. The acting was phenomenal, especially Jennifer Laurence’s portrayal of Katniss, and the cinematography was quite well-done.

SPOILERS AHEAD! PROCEED WITH CAUTION!

Mockingjay_Part_2_Poster
Source. 

Was it just me, or did this movie just… end? I didn’t even know what to feel by the end of the movie, and it was rushed. Mind you, the book also just ends and leaves you with this stupid several-years-later epilogue that explains absolutely nothing. Maybe it’s unrealistic of me, but at the end of a series, I want the characters I just invested a bunch of time in reading/watching to be ok. I realize that after everything Katniss and Peta and the rest go through they really shouldn’t  be ok, but still. The movie ended and I was like “I HAVE ALL THESE FEELS THAT YOU HAVEN’T DEBRIEFED ME ON! DON’T END! WE NEED TO TALK!”

Let’s go through the movie a little more systematically, or this will just be a puddle of sad feelings and not very entertaining to read.

The movie starts with a scene of Katniss getting her neck brace taken off and trying to speak, and it was very raw and kind of jarring because they didn’t have any music in the background. It did a very good job of setting the tone for the rest of the movie, which was (in my opinion) Katniss trying to make sense of the awful things going on around her, and her fight for freedom and justice.

I mentioned earlier that I liked the movies better than the books (excluding the first book), and a big part of that is because I found it very difficult to sympathize with Katniss. The writing style just didn’t work for me, and I didn’t understand what was going on because everything was filtered through Katniss’s very confused head. In the movies, however, we got to be a little farther outside Katniss, and everything made a lot more sense. Like why Katniss voted yes for a Capitol hunger games, which I did not at all understand in the book, but now I realize it was so she could kill Coin, and the games wouldn’t ever happen. Mind = blown.

All the scenes in the capitol streets as Katniss and Co. are making their way past all the pods was so stressful and intense! Like the tar pod within a pod. And the whole time they were in the sewers I was just holding my breath, waiting for the lizard things to jump out, and then I totally jumping when they did. Well played, movie.

Can we have a moment of sadness for Finnick? I felt so bad for Katniss when she dropped the holo down to him. So sad!

The scene that really got me though was at the end when Buttercup came back. I nearly cried, but I was with friends that I only sort of knew so bawling in the theatre was not a good idea. :p Also, props to Jennifer for doing one of the most realistic crying scenes I have ever seen on screen. That was a very well done full-on-sobbing ugly cry, which I’m sure is not an easy thing to act. It added a lot of reality to the scene. If your sister was dead, you probably wouldn’t pull a classic movie two-tears-down-the cheek-cuddle-the-cat, either.

My biggest quibble with this movie was how rushed it felt. They did a great job considering how brief everything is in the source material, but there were moments when terrible thing after terrible thing just kept happening without a moment to breathe in between and sometimes that pulled me out of the story.

All in all, I would give this movie a solid 9 out of 10. It was well done, is one of the best book-to-movie adaptations I have seen, and gave me a lot to think about.

So! What were your thoughts on Mockingjay part 2? Did you like it better than the book? What is your favourite Hunger Games movie and or book? Tell me all in the comments!

