There’ve been an abundance of book reviews up on the blog lately, and since it is the end of one month and the beginning of another, it seemed fitting to change things up a little this week and give you all an update on my life. Because my life is so epic, clearly the universe must be able to read all about it on my blog. XP

First things first, how is the TBR pile coming?
I have checked a fair few items off the list, and thrown in a couple others for good measure. This past month I have read:

  • Memory, A Very Short Introduction by Jonathan K. Foster (University level reading, so the ‘short introduction’ took me over a week to plough through, but it was interesting stuff all the same.)
  • The Screwtape Letters by C. S. Lewis (revewed here)
  • Eyes Wide Open by Ted Dekker (Discovered on Tracey Dyck’s blog. Will definitely be reading more of him in the future. :D)
  • Cannery Row by John Steinbeck (Very depressing read, outside my genre ‘comfort zone,’ and way over my head in the philosophical department.)
  • Beowulf, translated by R. K. Gordon. (This was excellent, and I devoured the whole thing in an evening. Really want to read the recently released translation by Tolkien and his notes on the story.)
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (reviewed here)
  • The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien, edited by Christopher Tolkien (Review/incoherent fangirling to follow next week!)
  • The Brain that Changes Itself by Norman Doidge (Fascinating non-fiction book on neuroplasticity. It totally changed how I view the brain. Also, surprisingly easy to read, as Doidge wrote in an easy, conversational style and used very little science jargon.)
  • Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen (Probably my favourite of her books that I’ve read so far (though Sense and Sensibility is a close second). Catherine is so wonderfully naive, and Henry had me either laughing out loud or grinning like an idiot anytime he was on-screen. A good first introduction to Austen, in my opinion, especially if you enjoy fantasy novels and are apt to over-fantacize real life.)

Phew, that’s a lot of books! All that’s left on my list is some Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie, Moby Dick, and The Iliad. (Also, sorry for the sad lack of pictures this post, but that’s the way my internet connection goes these days.)

On the writing front, you may recall a post in which I threw confetti and had a dance party. How is the new project mentioned in that post going, you ask? Well, I hit a snag about 1,000 words in when I realized that I have absolutely no clue what kind of world my characters are living in. The project is currently on hold while the little carpenters in my brain frantically work on building the sets for my novel. I may not get back to that project until next summer, but I’ve found that a great way to kill an idea is to force the story onto the page before it’s properly cooked in my brain. I really want to do this story justice, so it must wait.
Of course, this leaves me to drift listlessly between projects. Do I work on the colossal amount of editing desperately needed for the Sleeping Beauty retelling I drafted in one day? Do I jump into pantsing a fun dragons-take-over-the-world story? Do I work on world building for the project I started? So many shiny options, I don’t know how to choose!

Aside from read books and whine about not knowing what to write/edit next, this past month I have:

  • Enjoyed a day-long canoe trip with my family.
  • Scrubbed out more toilets than I care to count for my summer job.
  • Stalked book blogs as much as physically possible.
  • Picked raspberries and made raspberry-apple crisp.
  • Danced shamelessly in a rainstorm.
  • Watched many a glorious sunset.
  • Memorized part of a Bach prelude on the piano.

All in all, July has been a pretty great month, and I have high hopes that August will be even better.

So how have your summers been going? Read any good books? Eaten any delicious summer desserts? Tell me about it in the comments!

