This post is a little late coming up, due to me not getting internet five days straight. But better late than never, right? 😛

Anyways, to business:

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald is an inarguably good book. It is well written with a unique style, the characters are active and many-layered, the plot is well-revealed, and it explores many complex and interesting themes.
I didn’t like it. I wouldn’t go so far as to say I hated it, but then again, I found I didn’t care enough about it to gather up the emotional steam required for hate. I found it to be a pointless, depressing story about how life is pointless and depressing. Also, it ended very abruptly, and endings often make or break a book for me.
I didn’t care for how Fitzgerald revealed plot points out of order with meandering flashbacks, and sometimes the writing itself distracted me from the story, as Fitzgerald employs a very different style from what I am used to. I found I wasn’t invested emotionally in any of the characters, and was only vaguely sad for them when horrible things happened. Something about the book overall made me feel very emotionally distant and cold. Maybe that was Fitzgerald’s aim, and I’m just an uncultured Neanderthal (something my sisters will readily confirm ;p), but I didn’t like it.
I prefer books that make me laugh and cry and everything in between. I like characters I can cheer for, and plots in chronological order, and writing that doesn’t draw a ton of attention to itself. I found this book to do none of those things, and so I didn’t enjoy it.
All that said, I’m not disclaiming this as a *bad* book. It is undeniably good – a classic – just not for me. And it did make me think about richness and class and fidelity, and I’m a big advocate of the idea that any work of art that makes one think, be it a book, film, or paining, has merit. I also really, really want to see the latest movie version (the one with DiCaprio), as I’ve heard great things about the cinematography and acting and costumes in it, and I think it is the kind of story I would enjoy more in film form over book form.
So those are my thoughts on the Great Gatsby. If you loved this book, good for you! I wish I had loved it also, but I found it didn’t click with me. I don’t regret reading it, but I certainly won’t be reading it again anytime soon.

Rating: 2/5 stars

Have you read The Great Gatsby? Did you enjoy it, or did you also find it wasn’t your cup of tea? What good books have you read lately?

