I was nominated by the wonderful Tracey Dyck for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. A thousand thanks for being the first blogger ever to tag me! I’ve seen various tags floating around the blogosphere, and today I am joining in on the tagging fun.

sisterhood

And so, without further ado, the rules…

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site. (Check)
  • Put the award logo on your blog. (Double Check)
  • Answer the ten questions sent to you.
  • Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
  • Nominate ten blogs.

Questions:

1.What book world would you like to live in?
Man, every time someone asks me this question I either draw a complete blank, or end up talking their ear off on the pros and cons of every book world ever. If you ever ask me this in real life, I’m sorry in advance. :p But since I have a little more time to think while I type this, I think I would like to live in *drumrollllll* Middle Earth! Preferably after Sauron has been defeated but before the last of the elves leave. I would love to visit the Shire and eat a proper Hobbit’s breakfast, climb the Lonely Mountain, wander through Lothlorien and visit the elves, paddle a canoe down the Anduin, see the White City of Minas Tirith, and ride horses across the plains of Rohan. So much to see and do, and only one lifetime to do it!

2. Favourite flower?
I like flowers, but I rarely bother to learn their names. Which makes this question rather difficult. I find wildflowers in general very beautiful, and I also like bleeding hearts quite a lot. [insert image]

Unknown
 I find it so cool that God made a flower that colour and shape!

3. Name a friend who’s like a sister to you, and if you like, share a memory.
I am very blessed with several close friends who are like sisters to me, so this is a difficult question for me to answer. In fact, it is simply too hard for me to pick only one friend and one memory, so I’m going to skip it and move on to the next.

4. Dream ride? (Could have wheels, wings or legs.)
Shadowfax, the lord of all horses. If he’d let me ride him, that is…
If I can’t ride Shadowfax, I think riding a dragon would also be pretty epic.

5. Favourite book character you’ve met recently?
Maisie Danger Brown from Dangerous by Shannon Hale. I related to this character on so many levels. She’s a science geek, was homeschooled (I was homeschooled for the first half of my elementary school career), and she wants to be an astronaut. Back in the day, I dreamt of becoming the first human to land on Mars. ***MILD SPOILERS AHEAD*** Also she is a real superhero, and I admired her despite her blindness and naiveté when it came to certain male characters.

6. What song is playing in your head right now?
I’ve got a nice mashup of about five songs playing in my head right now, and I’m not sure if all of them are actually real songs. So to save myself a lot of pain and self-analysis, I will simply tell you what songs I have been wandering around the house singing nonstop lately. (And yes, I wander around the house singing whatever happens to be stuck in my head. Don’t you?)
Too Much, Impossible Soul, Casimir Pulaski Day, The Only Thing, and The Fourth of July by Sufjan Stevens
(Basically anything by Sufjan Stevens has been decidedly stuck in my head since my sister introduced me to his music three months ago.)
What it Costs and Let Your Love Be Strong by Switchfoot
That’s a lot of music! I was going to include links, but I don’t want to completely overload you with songs. You can YouTube them later at your leisure if you like.

7. Favourite historical time period?
The Roman Empire, hands down. I absolutely loved Rosemary Sutcliffe when I was young, and read almost all of her books. Think large military exploits and epic battles and insane emperors burning cities to the ground! Also, this is the time period when Jesus lived and when the New Testament was written, and I’ve found that the more I learn about the Roman Empire the better I understand the cultural climate in which Christianity was born.

8. Would you prefer to live in a hobbit hole or Rivendell?
Nothing against Hobbit holes, but does anyone not want to live in Rivendell?

overviewlrg
As you can see, it is stunningly beautiful. It’s also the perfect place to hang out and re-charge your batteries. You can stay up all night singing and feasting with the elves, retreat to a quiet library to read a book, or go for a walk in the valley. And did I mention that you would be living with elves? Because you’d be living with elves.

9. Describe your everyday makeup, if you wear any.
I have absolutely nothing against makeup, but am much too lazy to bother with it on a daily basis.

10. Favourite ice cream flavour?
Ice cream is my favourite desert, so this is a hard question. I guess I’d have to pick vanilla, because you can eat it with almost anything and it will taste good. Pie and vanilla ice cream? Yes. Cake and vanilla ice cream? Yes. Vanilla ice cream and hot fudge sauce? Yes. Vanilla ice cream in your banana split? Yes. Vanilla ice cream by itself? Yes! I could go on all day, but I won’t.

Now, the rules say that I have to make up ten of my own questions and tag ten other blogs. But I’m going to break the rules. First, because I’m feeling lazy and don’t want to think up ten good questions (Using my brain? Horror of horrors!), and second because I’m still quite new to this whole ‘blogging community’ thing and don’t know of any bloggers who have not already been tagged. Heh.

And so I will leave with an open invitation for all you lovely readers to nab these questions and have some fun answering them. If you do, be sure and link back to Tracey’s blog (they’re her questions, after all) and to the award logo.

😀

