Two posts in two days! I clearly have too much time on my hands…

This is my first time doing Beautiful People, and for readers who don’t know, it’s a blog meme hosted by Sky @ furtherup-and-furtherin.blogspot.com.au and Cait @ paperfury.com. Basically it is ten interview questions writers can ask one of the characters from their current WIP (Work In Progress) to help flesh them out and discover their quirks, flaws, and personality. It looked like fun, so I thought I would join in this month. 😀

So, to business… Introducing Melanie, best friend of my main character in the superhero/sci-fi/spy novel I am currently editing/re-writing.

Sarah: Hi Melanie. Thanks for coming in today!
Melanie: You’re welcome. I don’t usually do the interview thing, but seeing as you’re my author…
S: *coughs to cover an evil laugh* Right. I suppose we should get straight to it. I have a few questions to ask about your parents. First, do you know both your biological parents?
M: Yes. I grew up with both my parents in Headquarters, though now that I’m in training I only see them during summer holidays.
S: Have you inherited any physical resemblances from your parents?
M: I have my mom’s wavy blonde hair and my dad’s round nose.
S: How would you describe your parents’ dress style?
M: Somewhat formal. They’re in uniform a lot, but when they aren’t, my dad likes dark-wash jeans and a proper collared shirt, and my mom usually goes for a knee-length dress with heels and a leather jacket.
S: Do you share any personality traits with your parents?
M: Not really. I’m somewhat outgoing and spontaneous, while both my parents are very shy and rational.
S: Who would you say you take after the most?
M: If I had to pick one, I guess I’d say my mom. We’re both very protective of the people we love. But as I said before, I’m not much like my parents.
S: Do you get along with your parents, or do you clash?
M: We get along very well. I love my parents very much, and even when I disagree with them, I know they’re coming from a well-meaning place, which makes all the difference to me.
S: If you had to describe each of your parents in one word, what would it be?
M: I’d say my dad is stoic. As for my mom, I would say she’s strong.
S: Stoic and strong – sounds like you’ve got good parents. What would you say they’ve helped you with the most in your life?
M: I think having loving parents to run to when times get tough has made a huge difference. A lot of my peers don’t have that luxury, and I’ve seen them really struggle.
S: What’s the biggest fight you’ve had with your parents?
M: Haha that’s a tough one… I went through a rebellious phase last year, and started to refuse orders in training. My dad made a special trip to the Training Centre just to tell me to smarten up. Looking back now, I can see why he was so angry.
S: Hindsight is a beautiful thing, isn’t it? Changing subjects a little, if you trace back your family tree, what are your roots?
M: I’m a classic mix of Western-European and North American. If you go back far enough, I think I have Slavic roots, but I’m not sure.
S: And finally, what is your favourite memory with each of your parents?
M: My mom and I have a ‘princess day’ my first day back from the Training Centre each summer. We paint our nails and do our hair and makeup, bake a huge chocolate cake, and then eat it while watching a sappy chick-flick. Not really a specific memory, but it’s always lots of fun.
With my dad, last summer he got leave to go on a short trip and brought me along. On the last night we camped in the middle of the woods and set off a bunch of fireworks together. I’m a bit of a pyromaniac, so to me fireworks are like the best thing ever. It was also kind of against the rules because I’m not supposed to use my powers outside of training. My dad almost never breaks the rules, so it was pretty special.
S: And that concludes our interview. Thanks a lot for joining me, Melanie, and I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavours.
M: Is that a not-so-subtle hint?
S: No, no hints whatsoever! But you can’t have a plot without conflict…
Melanie stands and storms away, and I head back to my laptop to resume editing, making sure there’s lots of conflict in there to keep her on her toes.

I hope you enjoyed that as much as I did! (And that you aren’t convinced I’m completely insane for talking to my characters like they’re real people… yeah.)

Do you have any favourite fictional parents? If you’re writing, what are your characters’ parents like? Are you going to do Beautiful People this month? Feel free to leave a comment below, and I’ll be sure to reply as soon as I can. 🙂

